Yale University Art Gallery
Robert Adams: The Place We Live

Robert Adams: The Place We Live
A Retrospective Selection of Photographs, 1964–2009

Printed with an unprecedented fidelity to the photographer’s original prints, Robert Adams: The Place We Live, A Retrospective Selection of Photographs, 1964–2009 is a retrospective that surveys all of his major projects. Volumes one and two reflect Adams’s exacting vision of a compelling sequence of nearly four hundred plates and bring together texts written by the photographer to accompany his photographic books. Volume three offers a detailed chronology of the photographer’s life, an illustrated bibliography of his monographs, selections from his personal archive, and a series of critical essays on his work by Joshua Chuang, Tod Papageorge, Jock Reynolds, and John Szarkowski.
Hardcover three-volume set: $250

What Can We Believe Where?
Photographs of the American West

The most accessible collection of Robert Adams’s body of work to date, What We Can Believe Where?: Photographs of the American West presents a carefully edited narrative sequence of more than one hundred photographs from a distinguished forty-five-year career, along with an afterword by Joshua Chuang and Jock Reynolds.
Paperback: $25

In addition to collaborating with the Yale University Art Gallery on the retrospective exhibition and publications, Robert Adams has worked closely with the Gallery to revise and reissue his classic monographs denver, What We Bought, and Summer Nights (republished as Summer Nights, Walking) in lucid new editions. In 2012, the Gallery will publish Sea Stories and This Day, a pair of books featuring pictures made in Oregon over the past ten years.

To order these publications, please visit the Gallery’s online Bookstore.